Alle Produkte
  • Alle Produkte
  • Upc/Cat
  • Movies/TV
  • Schauspieler
  • Studio
  • Titel
  • Music
  • Album
  • Künstler
  • Künstler (nur LP)
  • Label
  • Lied
  • Classical
  • Album
  • Person
  • Arbeit
  • Video Games
  • Studio
  • Titel
  • Accessories
  • Apparel
  • Collectibles
  • Authors
Kostenloser Versand über alles!


In Stock









Brunette on Brunet

Brunette on Brunet

  • Von Josh Finley
  • Version 10.08.2010
  • Musikgenre Rock
  • Medienformat CD
Share Twitter
Preis 13,28 €


Ruminations on Brunette on Brunet In July of 2008 I visited my brother In San Francisco, CA. It was a trip that included several gigs in 10 days in the area. I was playing songs off my latest album, 'This Is Personal.' While there I visited a music store, Amoeba Music, and purchased an album recorded in Nashville in 1966 called 'Blonde on Blonde.' I listened to the album everyday for months, and was truly moved by the concept and the energy that Bob Dylan, along with session players, and his producer Bob Johnston brought to the album. It had so much honesty, surreal imagery, loving and tormenting...moving words. The way Dylan was able to voice his opinion into the microphone while playing the guitar and harmonica, made it sound like it was the first time he was voicing his thoughts on the matter. It moved me. Unlike today's commercial music, the length of the songs on this album were irrelevant. The songs weren't finished being written until it was recorded, and you could feel it. After doing research on how the album was recorded - everything from studios, microphones used, to how they were able to catch such an intense live feel - a clear vision came to me. I understood how to create an album that would help reflect on my past, find closure, and move forward. I moved to Nashville over Labor Day weekend, and immediately started working on the new writings. At this point, they were mostly just scribbles on napkins, receipts, match booklets, etc. Over the course of the next few months I began writing what became a book I was calling 'Brunette on Brunet.' It was a collection of poems, ideas, stories, and songs I had been writing and saving on a notepad and my laptop. I established a budget for myself, and music became my savings account. When the writings were nearly complete, I posted an add on Craigslist in search of a engineer that would record some acoustic demos for me. In early 2009, seven recordings were done in one afternoon, along with several others I had recorded on my own in 2008. I then took these demos, and searched for a Producer. Just after a year of being in Nashville, I met Erik Walter Thompson. We had four meetings prior to recording, and established the kind of feel I wanted the album to have: from instrumentation, the theme, the wildness, and overall 'live' energy. Somewhere along the way, the words 'soundtrack feel' came up in discussions on how Erik and I would develop the album. I tapped into my favorite music influences, trying to highlight how the 60's 70's and 90's music had developed me into a diverse songwriter and performer. We didn't worry about how one song would roll into the next. Instead we focused on making every song unique in it's own form, and allowed the songs to naturally fall into place on the album. After finding the right players for the songs we made an album! 'Brunette on Brunet' was recorded over the course of the next four months (Dec '09-March '10) at four different studios in Nashville, TN: Thank you to everyone that supported my vision, and reassured me along the way that I could complete this project on my own. At times it felt like I was constructing a castle with my bare hands, and needed to be reminded along the way that if I envisioned the castle being made out of sand, I could build it. Booking/Press: Contact: Josh Finley Music LLC @ JOSHFINLEY.COM or FACEBOOK.COM/JOSHFINLEYOFFICIAL Production notes for Brunette on Brunet: All Songs written by Josh Finley (P) & (C) 2010 Josh Finley Music LLC (BMI) Except 'The Maybe Line,' written by Molly Simms and Josh Finley Produced, mixed, and engineered by Erik Walter Thompson Co-Produced by Josh Finley Mastered by: Luke Gilfeather Assistant Engineer: (mood lighting setter, cream-in-my-coffee, headphone provider, all around likable guy) Kyle Anderson Recorded at: Ocean Way Studios, RCA Studio B, Robert E. Mulloy Studios, Quonset Hut Studios, all in Nashville, TN The Cast: Josh Finley: Vocals, acoustic guitar, harmonica, electric guitar on track 7 Cheyenne Medders: Bass, electric guitar on tracks 3,8,11,13,14; backing vocals on track 13 Will Medders: Drums, tambourine, gong Joshua Stauter: Pianos, B3 organ, synths, Fender rhodes on track 5; Carson Medders: Bass and background noise on track 7 Carson Murphy: Bass on tracks 1,2 Miss Molly Simms: Electric guitar and backing noise on track 7 Neil Bunker: Electric guitars on track 1,2,3,4,5,6,9; melodica, iphone, Fender rhodes on track 1 Annie Williams: Vocals on tracks 4,11; Background vocals track 5 Kyle Stout: Kazoo on track 7 Erik Walter Thompson: Backing vocals on track 13, noise on track 7 Dan Parks: Electric guitar on tracks 10,14 © 2010 Josh Finley Music LLC.


Künstler: Josh Finley
Titel: Brunette on Brunet
Genre: Rock
Release-Datum: 10.08.2010
Etikett: CD Baby
Medienformat: CD
UPC: 884501368896