Alle Produkte
  • Alle Produkte
  • Upc/Cat
  • Movies/TV
  • Schauspieler
  • Studio
  • Titel
  • Music
  • Album
  • Künstler
  • Künstler (nur LP)
  • Label
  • Lied
  • Classical
  • Album
  • Person
  • Arbeit
  • Video Games
  • Studio
  • Titel
  • Accessories
  • Apparel
  • Collectibles
  • Authors
Kostenloser Versand über alles!


In Stock









Happy Holy Days

Happy Holy Days

  • Von 11 Acorn Lane
  • Version 30.11.2010
  • Musikgenre Xmas Vocal
  • Medienformat CD
Share Twitter
Preis 8,59 €


'Delightful' - American Songwriter 'Accomplished musical whimsy' - Los Angeles Times 'Effervescent...wild, inventive arrangements' - Chicago Sun Times 'One cool record' - WXPN 'The holiday's niftiest surprise' - 'Bachelor-pad music master Esquivel is long gone, but his martini-fueled spirit lives on' - Philadelphia Daily News 'A good change of pace if you're tired of Bing, Manheim Steamroller and the rest...' - 'Henry Mancini, Herb Alpert and Lawrence Welk sharing a drunken jam session after too much hot buttered rum' - Metromix 'The most original, multi-layered seasonal creations I've enjoyed in some time' Robert Drake, The Night Before on XPN "Sexy and drunken horns, swinging accordion, cooing choruses, and a cha-cha beat are all milked for maximum merriment." - The Village Voice (Top 10 Christmas Albums of 2010) "Easily this year's most musically inventive holiday CD" - Eagle Tribune (MA) Imagine a holiday party in that great bachelor pad in the sky, where Esquivel, Henry Mancini, and Serge Gainsbourg are on the guest list. 11 Acorn Lane - the NYC duo comprised of Swiss-born Thomas Foyer and Englishman Neal Pawley - have created the soundtrack to that soiree. Witty, meticulous, and above all festive, the duo's latest release 'Happy Holy Days' (Oct 5/Wooden Hat Records) mixes eleven yuletide classics including "Silent Night," "Deck The Halls," "We Wish You a Merry Christmas" and "Oh Tannenbaum," into a potent holiday cocktail with traces of funk, exotica, electronica, traditional European music and more. 'Happy Holy Days' may sound like the work of a full orchestra, but it was painstakingly arranged and recorded over three years by two guys in one room. Locked away with an armory of instruments ranging from '60s analogue gear to the latest cutting edge technology, 11 Acorn Lane spent "hundreds and hundreds of hours of throwing ideas back and forth," says Foyer, "trying out different grooves, chasing a vibe, building an orchestra out of the sounds in our heads. " Genres and instrumentation shift at the drop of a hat; horn sections and drum machines collide with upright bass and stacked harmonies, only to give way to Spanish guitars and trilling flutes. Listen to album opener 'Jingle Bells,' and you'll get the idea. You've never heard holiday music like this before, but chances are you have heard 11 Acorn Lane. The band's distinctive sound has landed them prominent placements in a number of films and TV shows, including an upcoming episode of the hit HBO series 'Bored to Death,' 'Weeds,' 'Ugly Betty,' and PBS's 'Roadtrip Nation' among others. Foyer and Pawley each have their own impressive resumes outside the band, too. They've shared the stage and/or recorded with Jon Bon Jovi, Southside Johnny, Stevie Wonder, Willie Nelson, Joss Stone, Rafael Saadiq, and many more.


Künstler: 11 Acorn Lane
Titel: Happy Holy Days
Genre: Xmas Vocal
Release-Datum: 30.11.2010
Etikett: CD Baby
Medienformat: CD
UPC: 859704172243